When applying for a Oregon driver permit with Driver and Motor Vehicle Services, it is important to know the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the DMV requirements and that you have the necessary documentation ready.
In order to apply for a learner's permit in Oregon, you must be a resident of the state, and at least 15 years old. You cannot have a previously suspended or revoked driving permit regardless of the state it was issued in.
When you apply, you'll need to bring these documents with you to your local DMV:
- A completed application form including http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/173.pdf your social security number. The application must be signed by either of your parents or a legal guardian.
- Proof of your legal name – Use an original birth certificate.
- Address of your residence – You can use a school report card or transcript with your address, or the ID of the parent who is signing the application.
- Certification that you are in the United States legally. You can also use a valid birth certificate for this purpose.
- A completed Statement of Enrollment form, which you can get from your school or school district. If you are no longer in school, you can bring a copy of your high school diploma or GED certificate. In special circumstances, you can also bring an official letter from your school.
You will have to hand over to DMV personnel any previous ID cards or driving permits.
Once at the DMV, you will need to successfully pass a knowledge test and a vision screening test. As the final procedure before your permit can be issued, you will have a photo taken for your ID. The DMV will give you a temporary card to use until you receive your permit card in the mail.
The fee for the permit is $23.50, plus a $5 testing fee.
The Oregon Permit Test
The written knowledge test is computer based and tests your knowledge of traffic laws as well as road signs and markings. There are 35 multiple-choice questions. In order to successfully pass the exam, you must correctly answer at least 80 percent of the test, or 28 correct answers.
Oregon Driving Rules and Restrictions
The instructional permit is valid for 24 months after the issue date. After receiving your permit, you can only drive a car with a person sitting beside you in the vehicle who is at least 21 years old and holds a valid license. While driving, you are not allowed to text or talk on a cell phone, and you cannot use a hands-free mobile accessory to receive or send calls. In order to make your driving time count towards the required hours of supervised driving experience, the person sitting beside you must have had a valid driver's license for at least three years.
Once you turn 16, you can apply for a full license after either completing 50 hours of an approved traffic safety education course or 100 hours of supervised driving. If you choose to complete the approved course and bring the certification with you to the DMV, you will not need to complete a driving test, but you will still need to present proof of car insurance.
The license will have restrictions, including not allowing passengers under the age of 20 who are not in your immediate family (for the first 6 months), and no driving after midnight (for the first year).