When applying for a Nebraska driver permit with Department of Motor Vehicles, it is important to know the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the DMV prerequisites and that you have the necessary documents ready.
To obtain a license to drive in Nebraska, individuals must first get a learner’s permit if they are not licensed in another state. A learner’s permit is available to anyone who is 15 years of age. Teens who are eager to get the process started right away may actually apply for the permit 60 days before turning 15, however the permit itself will not be issued until the applicant turns 15.
Nebraska also offers a school permit (SCP) for rural residents, starting at the age of 14, to drive to and from school only. All other driving must be done while supervised by a licensed adult of at least 21 years of age who is sitting next to the learning driver. A school permit costs $8, and drivers must first obtain a school learner’s permit (LPE) to practice supervised for at least 2 months before applying for a school permit.
Nebraska Permit Documentation and Testing
To get a regular learner’s permit (LPD), individuals must apply at a DMV office by providing the appropriate documentation and taking the written test. Applicants need to provide:
- Proof of their age and identity, such as an original birth certificate. For those under age 18 who do not have a birth certificate, their parents can sign an “under age 18 certification,” which suffices for proof of age.
- Social Security card
- 2 forms of proof of address, in the form of official mail, such as utility bills, mortgage or rental agreements or insurance cards or policies or other recent mail showing a Nebraska address. Since most teens will not have this mail in their name, the DMV accepts this proof from the parent or guardian with whom the teen resides, and signs the permit application in person at the DMV.
A $10.50 fee is also required. A replacement permit will cost $13.50.
Applicants also must pass a 50-question written examination that has covers driving laws and regulations, as well as road signs. At least 80 percent of questions must be answered correctly to successfully pass the test. Those who do not pass the examination can take it again after waiting at least one day. Applicants for a learner’s permit must also pass a vision test at the DMV.
Stages of Licensing in Nebraska
The learner’s permit is valid for up to one year and allows the holder to drive a vehicle while accompanied by a licensed adult of at least 21 years of age.
From there, drivers have two options for moving up to an actual driver license, known as a provisional operator permit (POP) at age 16.
Complete a DMV approved driver safety course. Students will typically take the vision, written and safety tests through the course, and do not have to take these tests at the DMV to obtain their driver licenses. Successful completion of a driving test is still required.
Complete at least 50 hours of supervised practice driving with an adult 21 or older. At least 10 of those hours must occur after dark. Applicants must submit a 50-hour certification form that has been filled out by a supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age.
With a provisional operator permit, drivers may operate a vehicle unsupervised between 6 AM and midnight. Exceptions to the late-night driving restrictions are made for driving to and from work or school, or if driving accompanied by an adult 21 or older. Furthermore, for the first 6 months, the driver may only carry one non-family passenger under the age of 19. Any cell phone use, including hands-free devices, is prohibited for all provisional drivers.
The provisional operator permit must be held for one year, with no more than two points on their driving record, before drivers can advance to a standard operator’s license. If 3 or more points are accumulated, the driver must take an 8 hour driver improvement course to qualify for a full license.