When applying for a Mississippi driver permit with Department of Public Safety, you should understand the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the DPS prerequisites and that you have the necessary documents ready.
Are you interested in obtaining your learner's permit in the state of Mississippi? You will need to familiarize yourself with the state's requirements and ensure that you are eligible before applying for a learner's permit. This article will provide you with some basic guidelines regarding the state's requirements when it comes to obtaining a learner's permit.
Age Requirementsfor Mississippi Permit
The state of Mississippi has several restrictions in place when it comes to driver's permits and age. Specifically, the state DMV website states that all applicants for learner's permits must be at least 15 years of age. However, there are some exceptions to this; those age 14 may be able to obtain a learner's permit if they can provide proof of enrollment in a driver's education program from an accredited driving school. It is important to note, however, that at age 14, you can only operate a vehicle while with a licensed driving instructor. Driving with parents and other licensed drivers is not permitted until the age of 15.
Mississippi Permit Documentation and Fees
If you meet the age requirements for obtaining your learner's permit, you will need to provide the necessary documentation to carry on with the next step. There are a number of documents that you will need to present at your local Drivers License Center. These include:
- Your completed application form.
- Your Social Security card (originals only--no copies).
- A certified copy of your birth certificate.
- Proof of school enrollment, if under the age of 18.
If you are under the age of 18, your application for your learner's permit will also need to be signed by both your parents (if alive), or legal guardian. If your parents are divorced, the one with the majority of custody is the parent who will need to sign your application form. If you are over the age of 18, you will need to provide proof of your residence by bringing in a utility bill or other formal document with your name and address on it.
Mississippi has some of the least expensive application and permit fees around; you will need to pay just $7.00 for your learner's permit.
Mississippi Written Test
Aside from taking a standard vision test, you will also need to take the written exam. This is a computer based, multiple choice exam to ensure that you are familiar with the basic rules of the road in order to obtain your learner's permit. You should make sure that you are as familiar as possible with Mississippi traffic laws, road signs and driving safety. You will need to score at least 16 out of 20 questions correctly in order to be eligible for a learner's permit.
Other Mississippi Licenses
Once you have passed the exam and receive your learner's permit, it is important to obey driving laws at all times, so as to avoid the possibility of your permit being suspended. This means making sure that you have a licensed driver at least 21 years of age in the car with you at all times while you are behind the wheel.
After holding the permit for 12 months, you will be eligible to obtain an intermediate license, after passing the driving skills test. This allows you to drive unsupervised from 6 AM until 10 PM Sunday through Thursday, and until 11:30 on weekends. After 6 months, you may upgrade to a regular license without restrictions.