Taking the DPS permit test in Mississippi does not have to be scary. Using this study guide, and taking the permit practice test will help make the process easy.
One of the most-anticipated privileges people look forward to is earning their driver's license and hitting the open road. The first test to get a permit is the written test, which examines a driver's knowledge of basic driving rules and safety. The best way to pass this test is to study the Mississippi Driver's Manual.
The written test contains 50 multiple-choice questions, and a person must get a score of 80 or higher to pass the test. Each question usually has two to four answers from which to choose with some true-false questions included as well. The content is split almost equally between traffic signs, road markings, traffic laws and state regulations. Applicants may take the test three times within a one-month period. If the test is failed after the third attempt, the person must wait 30 days before taking it again. For those applicants needing assistance, there is an audio version of the test available.
The two major parts of the driving manual that are very helpful to study before taking the written test are Rules of the Road starting on page 19 and Safe Driving Practices starting on page 48. Within these are some important section for potential drivers to study:
- Driving at Night - page 36 The test may ask for best driving practices in certain situations.
- Braking Distances - page 38 Memorize how far it takes to stop a car at various speeds.
- Road Signs- page 42 There will be several road signs and marking questions on the test.
- Parking - page 51 Understand rules such as what different color curbs mean.
- Interstate Highway Driving - page 54 Knowing how to drive on interstate highways is also critical to driver safety
- Safety Tips for Cellular Phones - page 64 Cellphone use for calling or texting, while driving is a major issue. This chapter offers a number of safety tips that should be known for the test.
The manual also contains information on rules for obtaining a driver's license and learner's permit. You should know the different requirements for applicants who are 14 years old, those 15-16 years old and applicants who are 17 years old. These can be found on page 72 of the manual.
Finally, the Mississippi Manual offers an excellent list of topics for test takers to know starting on page 73.
A Mississippi permit practice test is available online. For new drivers, this offers a great opportunity to study at one's leisure until test time. So study hard and happy driving!