When applying for a Maine driver permit with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, it is important to know the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the BMV conditions and that you have the necessary documents ready.
The state of Maine has implemented a graduated driver licensing system, which enforces rules and regulations that gives new drivers the time to acquire necessary skills and knowledge to allow for the safe operation of a vehicle. The state requires new drivers to be at least 15 years of age, and complete a driver education course to obtain a learner’s permit.
Maine Permit Required Fees and Documentation
In addition to passing the written test, there are several necessary documents that applicants must supply to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles in order to receive a permit. In many cases the driver education school will handle the paperwork to issue the permit, but in any case applicants should be prepared to present the required documentation.
- a completed driver’s application form. http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/forms/noncomcapp.pdf Applicants under 18, must also have the form signed by a parent or guardian.
- An original birth certificate with embossed seal or stamp of issuing agency.
- Social Security card
- driver education certificate of completion
- $10 application fee paid via check or money order and made out to the Secretary of State.
Required Tests to obtain learners permit in Maine
The written test has two parts that must be passed to obtain a learner’s permit. The road sign test is made up of 25 multiple-choice questions. You must pass this test with a score of 80 percent or higher. The knowledge test covers traffic laws and regulations, and safe driving practices. Applicants must pass the test with a score of 80 percent or higher.
Passing a vision test is also required to receive a learner’s permit. This test determines whether you have any vision problems that would prevent the safe operation of a motor vehicle.
Applicants who fail any part of these tests, may pay the fees and take them again at a later date.
If you pass all of the required exams, you will qualify for a learner’s permit.
Rules for Driving with a Learner’s Permit
Permit holders may drive with a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has held a driver’s license for at least two years. New drivers under the age of 21 must hold a learner’s permit for at least six months before earning a license. Driver’s 21 and older must hold a learner’s permit for at least three months. Learner’s permits are valid for two years.
Applying for an Intermediate License in Maine
Applicants must be 16 years of age or older to apply for the intermediate license. Additionally the driver is required to complete a minimum of 70 hours supervised, practice driving, including 10 hours of supervised, night driving. Applicants must submit the driving form, signed by a parent or guardian that verifies your completed hours of day and night driving.
The final step to receiving license is to pass a road test. To arrange a time to take the road test, mail a request card to the Motor Vehicles main office in Augusta. The road test will be scheduled, and you will be notified regarding the time and location of your test. You must provide your own car, show proof of registration and be accompanied by a licensed driver.
Maine Intermediate License Rules
Holders of an intermediate license may not drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. They also may not carry passengers who are not immediate family unless a licensed driver 20 years of age or older, who has held a driver’s license for two years, is present in the front passenger seat. Finally with an intermediate license you may not operate a cellphone, even a hands-free device while driving.
When the requirements for the provis license have been met, drivers may then apply for a full, unrestricted license.