When applying for a Louisiana driver permit with Office of Motor Vehicle, you should understand the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the OMV requirements and that you have the required documents ready.
First time drivers in Louisiana looking to earn driving privileges will first need to obtain a driving permit. A learner's permit lets you drive in the state as long as you are accompanied by a licensed adult who is aged 21 or older. This can be a parent, legal guardian or other adult. You may also drive with a licensed sibling who is 18 or older.
You must be at least 15 years old, and have completed a driver education course, before visiting an Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) to apply for a learner's permit in Louisiana.
Louisiana Driver Permit Documentation
There are specific documents that you will have to bring with you to the OMV.
- You will need to provide your original birth certificate.
- Bring a completed Certificate of Attendance form that can be obtained from your school's office. If you are homeschooled, then you will need to provide a Home Study Approval notification letter or an approval letter from the Louisiana Department of Education.
- In addition, Social Security verification is required. If you do not have your original Social Security card, then you will have to provide a secondary source of verification.
- You must also bring a Certificate of Completion of a 38-hour Driver's Education course in which 30 hours were dedicated to classroom instruction and eight hours were set aside for hands-on driving instruction. If you are 17, you may be able to take the state-approved six-hour pre-licensing course.
The fee for the permit is $21.50, cash-only. Your local parish may charge additional fees, but these should not exceed $4.00. A parent or legal guardian will also have to accompany you to the OMV and bring photo ID with them.
Finally, you must also complete a written test as well as a road test to demonstrate practical knowledge. The test has 40 multiple choice questions and quizzes the student's knowledge of traffic laws, signs and licensing regulations.
Earning a License in Louisiana
Before graduating from a learner's permit to an Intermediate License, you must be at least 16 years old and have held your learner's permit for 180 days. You will then have the opportunity to earn a Class E Intermediate License, provided that you have completed at least 50 hours of practice driving time, with at least 15 of those hours being devoted to night-time driving. This license is maintained for one year, upon which you can apply for a full license.
The Intermediate License only allows for driving alone between 5 AM and 11 PM. You may also carry no more than one non-family passenger under 21 after dark.
Adults who apply for and earn a learner's permit must hold the permit for at least 30 days before they can take the road skills test. They must also provide proof that they have successfully completed a state-approved Driver's education course, or a six-hour pre-licensing course as well as an eight-hour practical instruction course. If they pass the test, they will have this restriction removed and be able to receive a Class E Learner's License with the opportunity to earn a Class D license later on.