When applying for a Kansas instruction permit with Department of Revenue, it is important to know the permit requirements. Make sure you meet the Division of Vehicles requirements and that you have assembled the necessary documents.
The state of Kansas maintains a fairly complex system of licensing for teens, administered through the Graduated Driver’s License law. New drivers start out with an assortment of restrictions, which are lifted in stages, as the driver reaches various milestones. There is even a farm permit available at age 14 for teens who work in the agricultural industry.
For most teens, the process of driving starts with applying for an instruction permit. This learners permit allows teens to drive with a licensed adult age 21 or over in the front seat. Drivers in Kansas can earn a permit at the age of 14 by passing the written permit test and completing the required paperwork. Proof of completed driver education course may also be submitted in lieu of taking the written test.
Kansas Permit Documentation and Fees
A driver younger than 16 years old needs a parent or guardian to accompany him or her to the exam station and to give consent to apply for a permit. Drivers must also bring documentation including:
- proof of identity - with an original birth certificate or valid US passport
- proof of Kansas residency – Most teens use a report card or transcript from their school, or your parents can sign this form http://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/de56a2.pdf and show their ID when applying.
- Social Security Card showing current full name
- The fee for obtaining a permit is $20, plus an $8 photo fee and a $3 exam fee.
Kansas Written Test
The written test includes questions about Kansas state traffic laws and recognition of the shape, meaning and color of different road signs. There are 25 multiple choice questions on the exam. Each question has four possible answers. You can miss up to five questions. The DMV help desk estimates that the test usually takes around 15 to 20 minutes to complete.
Kansas Graduated License Program
The program is made up of four stages:
- The permit stage
- The restricted license stage for 15 year olds
- The restricted license stage for 16 year olds
- Non-restricted license stage
To graduate from the permit stage to the restricted license stage, a teen between the ages of 14 and 16 must hold an instructional permit for a year. Teens older than seventeen are exempt from the one year requirement.
In order to receive a restricted license, a teenager who is at least 15 but younger than 16 must have held an instructional permit for a year , must have taken an approved driver education course, and completed 25 hours of practice driving under supervision. This license only allows driving to and from school and work, and you may only have siblings, or adults over 21. as passengers.
Once a driver turns 16, he or she can graduate to a restricted license with greater privileges. The driver must provide an affidavit http://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/teen_driving_log.pdf of 50 hours of practice time with at least 10 hours at night, and pass a driving test. The teen can then drive between 5 AM and 9 PM, and carry one underage passenger.
When a driver reaches the age of 17, he or she can apply for a non-restricted license.