When applying for a Arkansas learner permit with the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, it is important to know the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the DFA requirements and that you have the necessary documents ready.
In Arkansas, 14-year-olds are eligible to obtain a learner's permit. Arkansas does not require any in-classroom driver's education, but it is highly recommended. Those seeking to obtain a permit will have to provide a number of legal documents and pass several tests at the Motor Vehicle Commission office. On the day of application, a parent or guardian must accompany the teen seeking a learner's permit, and the applicant provide show the required documentation:
- Provide their birth certificate.
- Provide their social security number or an affidavit stating that the driver does not have one.
- Provide proof of school enrollment with a GPA of at least 2.0.
- Provide proof of U.S. legal residence such as a birth certificate, U.S. passport or Naturalization Certificate.
In addition permit applicants must complete the following:
- Pay a fee of $20.
- Pass the vision exam.
- Pass the written exam.
Arkansas Requirements of the Written Test
The Arkansas written exam for learner's permits has 25 questions. Applicants must answer at least 20 of the questions correctly in order to pass the test. The test includes both multiple choice and true or false questions. The test will assess your knowledge of Arkansas driving laws, road signs and how to respond to specific common driving situations.
Arkansas Rules and Restrictions for Permit Holders
Once a driver has a learner's permit, he or she must follow certain limitations. The permit holder may only drive with an adult at least 21 years of age and cell phone use is not allowed except for reporting an emergency.
Arkansas participates in a state-run graduated license program. After practicing with a permit for six months with a clear driving record, a driver is eligible to apply for an intermediate license at age 16, and then a full driver's license at age 18.
Arkansas Restrictions for Intermediate License Holders
Holders of an intermediate license are not allowed to drive between 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. unless an adult over age 21 is in the vehicle, or unless they are commuting to work, school, church or an emergency location.
Only one minor unrelated to the driver may be in the vehicle unless an adult over the age of 21 is in the vehicle.
Once a driver holds an intermediate license, he or she must have their own insurance. The policy can be their own or they may be covered under a parent's auto coverage.
Arkansas Full Driver's License
Once the driver is 18 and has held an intermediate license for at least 12 months, the driver may apply for a full driver's license. The driver must be free of convictions and accidents for the previous 12 months in order to obtain a full license for a fee of $20. There are no restrictions on passengers or hours of driving for full license holders, but any driver under the age of 21 must use a hands-free wireless communication device if they desire to make a call.