When applying for a Wisconsin driver permit with Division of Motor Vehicles, it is important to know the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the DMV requirements and that you have the necessary documents ready.
Every state has different requirements that one must complete in order to get a driver permit. In Wisconsin, you must be over 15 years and 6 months of age to be eligible for a driver permit. You must also have completed or be currently enrolled in a Driver's Education Course that has been approved by the state. You also need to pass a written exam in order to obtain a driver permit in Wisconsin.
The written knowledge exam is given on computers at DMV service centers. The written exam tests your knowledge of road signs, traffic laws and safe driving practices. The test is 50 questions, and you need a score of at least 80 percent in order to pass. The test is in multiple choice format, and each question has four answer choices.
To apply for a Wisconsin driver permit, you have to go to a local Wisconsin DMV with the following documents:
- proof of identity - can be a United States passport or social security card.
- a Wisconsin Driver License Application - can be found here http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/forms/mv3001.pdf and must be completed before you get to the DMV. It must be signed by the instructor of your course as well as a parent or legal guardian.
- social security proof – Bring your social security card.
- legal presence proof. Since most teens do not have a mortgage or utility bill in their name, this requirement is waived for those under 18.
The fee for the permit is $35.
With a driver permit in Wisconsin, you must drive with someone who has had at least two years of driving experience and currently has a valid driver license. Your supervising driver can be your parent or legal guardian, a qualified driving instructor or anyone else over 21 years of age. To be eligible for a license, drivers must accumulate 30 hours of supervised practice driving time. 10 of the practice hours will need to be after dark, and you can log the hours here. http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/docs/hs303.pdf
After turning 16, and holding the permit with no moving violations for at least 6 months, the next step is to obtain your probationary license. Drivers must have completed the required driver education course and practice hours, as well as pass the driving skills test to get a probationary license. With this license come certain restrictions, such as having only one passenger (outside of immediate family members), and no driving between midnight and 5 AM for the first 9 months.