When applying for a Minnesota driver permit with Driver and Vehicle Services, it is important to know the permit requirements. Make sure that you meet the DVS requirements and that you have the necessary documents ready.
The learner's permit for the state of Minnesota is known as the instruction permit. To earn this permit, you need to be 15 years of age or older, complete 30 hours of classroom lessons and be signed up for the behind-the-wheel portion of your lessons if you are between the ages of 15 and 18. The tests you will be required to take center on vision and knowledge. You will then need to fill out an application and pay a fee.
Minnesota Permit Documentation and Fees
Be prepared when applying for your instruction permit. You will need to arrive with proof that you have passed the classroom portion of driver education (the blue card), and provide at least two identification documents as well. These documents must comprise of your full name as well as the day, month and year of the date of your birth. You can meet these requirements by bringing a valid birth certificate, Social Security card and your school ID. Those under 18 must arrive with a parent or legal guardian, so they can sign that they are taking responsibility for your safe driving.
If you require the use of corrective lenses, you must arrive at the application process with them already on. Upon paying a $14.25 fee, the instruction permit will be valid for two years.
Minnesota Written Test
The written test, also known as the knowledge test, is a series of questions that will test you on your knowledge of the traffic laws and road signs within the state of Minnesota. You will take the test on a computer or paper at one of a number of available exam stations, whereupon you will answer a series of multiple choice and true or false questions. You will need a score of 80 or above to pass. You can take the test any number of times; however, a $10 fee will be charged after the second attempt.
Minnesota Permit Rules and Restrictions
If you are 18 years of age or under, you will need to hold an instruction permit for at least six months with an adult driver before you can take a driving test to earn a drivers license. During the months you hold an instruction permit, you will need to drive at least 30 combined hours, 10 of which must be at night. Every occupant of the vehicle must wear a seat belt at all times.
Steps to Graduated Licensing System in Minnesota
The graduated licensing system is a system designed to have potential drivers go through guided steps before obtaining a full license. You must first earn an instruction permit, which means that you will have to drive with a licensed driver at all times. Upon turning 16, completing driver education and passed the road test, you can move up to a provisional license, which includes a restriction of all passengers still being required to wear a seat belt. You can earn a full drivers license after you have held a provisional license for 12 months.