When applying for an Indiana driver permit with Bureau of Motor Vehicles, it is important to know the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the BMV requirements and that you have the necessary documents ready.
Learner’s permits in Indiana allow teens to develop their driving skills prior to obtaining an Indiana driver’s license. Learner’s permits are available to Indianans who are 16 years of age or older, but 15-year-olds can earn a learner’s permit if they are enrolled in a driver education program that has been approved by the state. Applicants must have a Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment to show that they meet this requirement.
Indiana residents applying for a learner’s permit will be required to present documents verifying their identity. They must also pass a vision screening test and a knowledge examination. An agreement of financial responsibility must be signed by a parent or legal guardian if the applicant is younger than 18 years of age. A $9 fee is charged for a learner’s permit in Indiana.
Indiana Permit Required Documents
Documents must be presented that verify the applicant’s identity, lawful status, Social Security number and residency in the state of Indiana. The applicant is required to present original documents or certified copies.
- Proving Identity and Lawful Status – You may use a valid U.S. birth certificate, or U.S. passport.
- Proving Social Security Number – Bring your Social Security card, or a document issued by the Social Security Administration.
- Proving Indiana Residence (two required) – You may use a utility, credit card or bank statement. However most teens under 16 will not have these available. Therefore applicants younger than 18 years of age may submit an Indiana Residency Affidavit instead. This affidavit must be signed by an individual of at least 18 years of age who resides with the applicant. The individual signing the affidavit must provide a valid Indiana driver’s license or identification card.
Indiana Knowledge Test
The test contains questions designed to assess the applicant's understanding of the Indiana driver's manual. Applicants taking the test answer multiple-choice questions concerning Indiana traffic laws, traffic signs and safe driving maneuvers. Applicants who fail the test must wait at least one business day before trying again.
Indiana Permit Rules
Once applicants have obtained the permit, they may drive with any licensed driver over the age of 25, or a spouse 21 or older. Permit holders must accrue 50 hours of supervised practice driving, with at least 10 of those hours at night, before becoming eligible for a license.
Indiana Probationary Driver’s License
In order to step up to an actual driver’s license, teens must hold the learner’s permit for at least 6 months. Additionally, if you have completed driver education you must be 16 ½ before you are eligible to apply for a license. Without drivers ed, applicants must be 16 and 9 months old. Applicants will need to submit their log of supervised driving and take a driving skills test. It is also possible to take the driving test with certain approved driver education programs.
Upon meeting these requirements, drivers are eligible for a Probationary Driver’s License, which comes with certain restrictions. Teen drivers may only drive between 5 AM and 10 PM for the first 6 months. After that the curfew is 11 PM on weekdays, and 1 AM on weekends. Also, there is a restriction on carrying any passengers, except siblings, under the age of 25 for the first 6 months. Additionally probationary license drivers may not use a cell phone, even a hands-free device, when driving.
This probationary license may become a full, unrestricted license upon turning 18.