Teens applying for a Delaware driver permit with Division of Motor Vehicles, should understand the permit requirements. Make sure you have the met the DMV obligations and that you have assembled the necessary documentation.
Earning the privilege of driving in the state of Delaware involves several steps to ensure that all teen and new drivers are educated as much as possible about road safety before they get behind the wheel. If you're ready to start driving, here are the state-mandated requirements that you will need to fulfill.
Age Requirements and Other Prerequisites of Delawares Permit
In order to earn a Level One Learner's Permit, you will need to be at least 16 years old. Before you submit your application, you will also need to pass a state-approved driver education course. Upon successful completion of the course, students earn a "Blue Certificate" that you can bring with you to the Division of Motor Vehicles when you make your application. You must also have a sponsor, usually a parent, who is willing to accept joint responsibility for your actions while you learn to drive. Applicants under the age of 18 cannot get a permit without a sponsor.
Delaware Documents and Fees Required for Permit
- At the time of your application, you will need to bring the following documents with you:
- Completed application form with sponsor signature
- Proof of your age and identity, such as a valid birth certificate or passport.
- Social Security card
- Your parents ID or official mail to you or your parent sponsor as proof of residency in Delaware
- A "blue certificate" showing proof of successful completion of an approved driver education program.
Applicants must also pass a vision test on the day of application, ensuring that drivers have a minimum of 20/40 vision with or without glasses. You will need to pay a $40 fee for your Level One Permit, which is also good for a Class D License for up to 8 years.
Passing the Written Test in Delaware
All potential drivers will need to pass a written test at the DMV in order to earn your permit. You will be tested on your knowledge of traffic laws, road signs and basic driving concepts. The test has 30 multiple choice questions, and you must correctly answer 24 questions in order to pass. If you fail the test, you will have to wait 10 days in order to study before taking it again.
Rules and Restrictions for Permit Holders in Delaware
Once you have earned your permit, you will have to follow certain rules in order to drive legally. You must always carry your permit with you when you are driving, and you must always wear a safety belt.
During your first six months as a permit holder, you are only allowed to drive with a supervising adult and one other passenger. Your supervising adult must be aged 25 or older and has to have held a Class D license for at least five years. You must complete at least 50 hours of driving, 10 of which should take place at night. You and your sponsor must submit evidence of this practice driving.
Then, after six months, you may take the road test to drive unsupervised, but only between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. If you drive between 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m., you must do so with a supervisor. Exceptions to this rule are made for drivers who are commuting from school, school activities or work.
Steps to Earning Your Driver's License in Delaware
The next step is to earn your Class D Operator's License starting at age 17. After driving with your permit for 12 months, the permit converts into a full license with no restrictions. You can also register to be an organ donor and potentially help save a life.
Like most other states, Delaware operates the graduated licensing program in order to ensure that new teen drivers are adequately prepared to take on different responsibilities at different licensing levels. By earning your Level One Learner's Permit, you will able to drive and gain practical experience that will help you become a safe and conscientious driver.