It is important to know the permit requirements when applying for an Alaska driver permit with Division of Motor Vehicles. Make sure you have the met the DMV requirements and that you have the necessary documents ready.
Obtaining a license is especially important to Alaskan teens as the state is such a large place, with so much distance to cover. New drivers can obtain a Learner's Permit starting at age 14. All applicants under the age of 18 must provide documentation of parental consent. http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/pdfs/433.pdf A parent’s signature on this form shows that they are accepting responsibility for your safe driving.
Documentation and Fees for Alaska Permit Test
Applicants for an instructional permit must fulfill several paperwork requirements. You can start by filling out the permit application http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/pdfs/478form.pdf in advance. If you print out the form at home, be sure that both pages are printed on one page, front and back.
The following documents are required to obtain an Alaska Learner's Permit when you apply at the DMV.
- A primary form of identification showing legal name and date of birth, in the form of an original US birth certificate or valid passport.
- Social Security card
- Proof of current address of residence. Applicant under the age of 18 can use official mail sent to the parent they live with, showing the physical address, not a PO box.
The fee for processing an application is $15.
Alaska Written Test
After submitting the application and required documents, applicants must pass a vision test and a written test. Questions may cover laws pertaining to the rules of the road, driver safety, impaired driving, vehicle equipment and intersections. There are 20 test questions both multiple choice and true/false, and a score of 80% or better is needed to pass. Applicants who do not pass must wait at least one day to attempt a retest. If you have trouble reading English, you can request to bring someone to help you read the test questions.
Alaska Permit Rules and Restrictions
Your permit is valid for a maximum of two years, and it may be renewed once. However, if you obtained your permit at the age of 19 or 20, your permit will expire 90 days after your 21st birthday. Therefore, it is in your best interest to see your permit as the temporary item it is, and work to upgrade yourself to a fully licensed driver as soon as possible.
All permit-holders must only drive when accompanied by a license-holding adult age 21 or older, with a minimum of one year of driving experience. Additionally permit holders will need a total of 40 hours of practice driving experience, with at least 10 hours during challenging conditions, such as during rain or snow or after dark, under the supervision of an adult in order to obtain a license.
Alaska Graduated Licensing System
In order to earn a Provisional License in Alaska, drivers must meet several requirements. First the applicant must be 16 years or older, and have held a permit for six months or longer. You must have completed the required 40 hours of practice driving. Finally you must pass a road test. You will need to pay $20 for the license, plus a $15 fee for the road test. Applicants must not have been convicted of a traffic violation within the past six months. If you received over 6 points of traffic citations over the past 12 months, or over 9 points in the past 24, you are required to take a nationally certified defensive driving course.
With a Provisional License drivers may only drive between 5 AM and 1 AM, and may not carry any passengers outside of the immediate family, unless accompanied by an adult aged 21 or older. These restrictions can be removed after 6 months with no moving violations. Upon renewing a license at age 21, all drivers must also pass an alcohol awareness test.